# **May Meeting**

At a meeting of the Advisory Committee on Socially Responsible Investing, held on May 5, 2015 in the Burden Room of the Low Library, the following members participated:

Marshall Bozeman Sameer Mishra
Stephen Christensen Eric LeSueur
Katherine Chung (non-voting) Gail O'Neill
Ellen Garber Alessandra Giannini Maureen Ryan

Jeffrey Gordon, Chair Anne Sullivan (non-voting)

Brennon Mendez

 $The following \ member \ of \ the \ administration \ was \ also \ in \ attendance:$ 

Colin Redhead

Absent with regrets: Anika Rahman

The meeting was called to order at 6:17 p.m.

Call to Order

#### **Minutes**

The minutes of the April 28 meeting were approved.

Committee Members

## **Trustees Votes**

The votes for the third set of six shareholder proposals for the Spring 2015 proxy voting season from the trustees were communicated to the full committee.

Committee Members

#### **Letter to Company**

One letter which expressed the Committee's views on a shareholder proposal that requests a report to be generated on hydraulic fracturing/shale energy risks for one of the University's holdings was reviewed and approved for transmission to the proponent of the resolution.

Committee Members

# Discussion on Fossil Fuels and Columbia University as a signatory with the CDP

A robust discussion occurred among committee members regarding the latest revision of the fossil fuels "framing" document, to be renamed as a "progress report." It was the sense of the Committee to endorse the general "Stand Up for Science" approach in the report. Prof. Jeffrey Gordon will incorporate the Committee's suggestions before recirculating for final approval. The report will then be posted on the ACSRI website for community-wide feedback.

Committee Members

### Discussion of Columbia University as a signatory with the Carbon Disclosure Project

The Committee discussed whether to recommend to the Trustees that Columbia University become a CDP signatory and ultimately decided to postpone this action. The Committee discussed the possibility of an ESG Fund being created.

Committee Members

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 8:10 p.m.

Respectfully submitted, Katherine Y. Chung Associate Director ACSRI